Light and Shadows of these days…

the people living in darkness
    have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of the shadow of death
    a light has dawned

DSC02563Morning light and vibrant colors…

DSC02578Long shadows…

DSC02605Light warming our backs…

DSC02625Beneath this shadow lies my little girl’s earthly shell…

DSC02632Light still shines as the evening comes…

Week two of Illuminate is focused on light. I have long been fascinated by the interplay of light and both the color illuminated as well as the shadows created by it. As I’ve reflected on light and darkness in this season I was drawn to create these images of shadows framed by the bright colors of these butterflies that remind me of Naomi. While the weather here has remained cold we’ve had a number of days with strong sun and deep blue skies. The thing about shadows is that the brighter the light, the darker the shadows cast by objects in it’s path. The journey of the past year has been a mess of deep shadows laced with the light of God’s love so strong and bright, bringing me back to life. It’s a slow, complicated dance of shadows and light. I keep reminding myself to look for the light behind the shadows.

About geomom

I'm a wife, mom, and girl trying to follow Jesus. Been married for 8 years and have three children, two boys living with me and one baby girl living with Jesus. I'm living this one life one day at a time through the pain and tears and joy and laughter, held in the love of God.
This entry was posted in Naomi, photography, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Light and Shadows of these days…

  1. skhewitt says:

    I love your use of shadows for this assignment. How poignant your photo of shadows of your family followed by your shadow on Naomi Ruth’s grave. I feel a connections to butterflies too. When one flies by I think of Katherine warmly. I like wrestling and rolling around in my head your comment that the brighter the light the darker the shadows. There are so many ways to make sense of that notion. Very moving and thought provoking work.

  2. I love that you included the family in your pictures and your use of shadows. Your words and pictures tied together perfectly, your pictures a true reflection of your thoughts.

  3. Beryl Young says:

    Your theme of light/shadows is such a unique approach to this assignment and I love that it took on a theme for you through all the shadow photos. xo.

  4. keiram7 says:

    These pictures are beautiful. Your words are very thoughtful and inspiring as well.

  5. I really like your photos of and description of shadows. Always with us but not always seen.

    Jenny

  6. angela2828 says:

    I like the way you’ve taken photos of the shadows and the butterflies with signs of Easter cheer in the background.

Leave a Reply

