On turning a year

Birthdays are interesting days. As the mother of two and soon to be three I think about the significance of the days I gave birth to my sons and spend a lot of time these days thinking about the upcoming birth day of my daughter. Those birthing days are a few of a handful of days that are forever stamped on my memory. And yet the memories of my own birthdays fade in and out over the years.

Tomorrow will be my 33rd birthday. I am a bit sad that I’ve been fighting a wicked sinus infection over the past week and still am not 100%. That will be part of my day tomorrow. Resting and recovering. This day is another way I mark my life and it’s seasons. I will be just  past my 33rd birthday when I deliver my third and (I think) last child.

But I think the thing I feel most significant this year about celebrating my birth day is thankfulness for my parents who gave me life. My mother, who 33 years ago went through that life defining moment of bringing a human being into the world.  As a young mom myself, I know she probably didn’t fully understood the significance of that act at the time. When the baby is coming the baby is coming. And yet to reflect on how she and my Dad have committed themselves to loving me and raising me to love God and to love my neighbor, to be honest and to live a life of integrity, to love and serve those around me humbles me and makes me so grateful for these two people who have given so much love, so many prayers and many many hours of listening ears. Though I am 33 years old they are still there loving, encouraging and more than ever, mentoring me as I continue of this path of life. I am forever grateful for these two people and the impact they have had on my life from my first breath until now. So thanks, Mom and Dad, for giving me a birthday to celebrate!

About geomom

I'm a wife, mom, and girl trying to follow Jesus. Been married for 8 years and have three children, two boys living with me and one baby girl living with Jesus. I'm living this one life one day at a time through the pain and tears and joy and laughter, held in the love of God.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Family, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

