Summer’s Fading

The nights have been cool enough to sleep with the windows open this past week and we are all enjoying the respite from the intense humidity of most of August.  Although I know that I’ll be pinning to be wrapped in the warm stickiness of August come, oh, about mid-February, I have to admit I am starting to look forward to Fall.  Summer is definitely my favorite season, but Fall is probably a close second. In the past couple of years I’ve grown to love especially the abundance of winter squash during this season. And wearing a t-shirt and jeans with maybe a sweatshirt for the cool mornings feels so great.  Plus, there is nothing like running outside in the fall. I’m planning on running a 5K (with Team ACC!) in October and look forward to these cool mornings for training!

So I was inspired this week by Megan at sortacrunchy to do some reflection on what’s been going on this month.  So here is what I’ve been into recently:

On My Nightstand

Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace by Anne Jackson…I’ve been so excited for this to come out and have been following Anne’s blog for quite awhile. Keep an eye out for a review of this book. So far, I’m really liking what I’m reading! Also, in the car on the commute I’ve been listening to A.W. Tozer’s The Pursuit of God. My accountability group will be going through this this fall and after our women’s retreat last weekend where my good friend Kar recommended it I dug it out again from the college book box.  If you haven’t read this you need to!

Want To Read

Positive Discipline for Preschoolers: For Their Early Years–Raising Children Who are Responsible, Respectful, and Resourceful …got this on interlibrary loan after hearing it highly recommended from several sources. It’s due back and the end of next month, so I’d better get going on it! Am hoping for some helpful tips in navigating this sometimes challenging age!

T.V. Show Worth Watching:

Umm…not into much right now. I don’t watch much TV in general unless 24 is on. 🙂

Movie I’ve Seen (in or out of the theater)

I finally watched Julie & Julia a few weeks ago one night when the Husband was at work. Not that I’m going to start learning to cook French food, but it was a fun movie and I love anything food related!

In My Kitchen

With the busyness of end of summer and starting back to school, I am in love with my crockpot. I think I made three meals from this website in the last week alone.

In My Ears

Chris Tomlin.  I won free tickets to see him in concert this month and have been so encouraged and refreshed by his music.

Three Newest Blog Reads

Honestly, I’ve been convicted that I’ve been spending way too much time reading blogs and browsing on-line. So this month I did a clean out of my Google Reader feed.  I’m only keeping up with blogs of IRL friends and a couple of  others that encourage and really challenge me.  So these three aren’t the Newest blogs, but they are what I need right now.

  • There is Megan at sortacrunchy, which I mentioned above
  • I’ve been enjoying Ann Voskamp at Holy Experience. Sometimes I like to go to her blog just to listen to her music. Her writing is so poetic and challenges me to keep looking to the Source for all things in life.
  • Finally, Anne Jackson’s blog, Flowerdust.net is the only other blog I’m following right now, but I’ve been reading her’s for awhile, too. I really like her “Merton Monday’s” and its starting to inspire me to read some Thomas Merton…one day!

What I’m Looking Forward to Next Month

I’m super excited for our annual camping trip to Mirror Lake, WI with a group of families from the Husband’s hometown.  We always go the weekend after Labor Day and its great. I love camping in a group as everybody takes a meal so you actually get to relax for several of the meals!!  And the other families also have kids around our kids ages so they love playing together and are on somewhat of the same schedules with needing naps, etc.

About geomom

I'm a wife, mom, and girl trying to follow Jesus. Been married for 8 years and have three children, two boys living with me and one baby girl living with Jesus. I'm living this one life one day at a time through the pain and tears and joy and laughter, held in the love of God.
This entry was posted in Family, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer’s Fading

  1. Scott says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed the Tomlin concert. That guy is definitely gifted in writing great songs for corporate worship!

Leave a Reply

